List of Countries Where 'Multiverse of Madness' is Banned

Image credit: Legion-Media

Marvel's latest superhero movie, 'Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness', has already earned rave reviews from critics and viewers, but it looks like some MCU fans won't get to see the hotly anticipated film after all.

The film with Benedict Cumberbatch will not be released in several Gulf countries, including the following list:

  • Saudi Arabia,
  • Kuwait,
  • Qatar,
  • Egypt.

The reason for this is America Chavez (Xochitl Gomez), the new superheroine introduced into the MCU in 'Multiverse of Madness'. She will play a major part in the upcoming movie and is a member of the LGBTQ+ community. The catch is that homosexuality is officially banned in the aforementioned countries, so despite the hopes of fans, the censorship commissions of those countries have deemed the film unsuitable for showing in cinemas.

And this isn't the first time Marvel has been banned from the Gulf – last year's 'Eternals' suffered the same fate after it was revealed that it would feature the first gay superhero as well as the first gay couple in the MCU.

Fans are understandably outraged by the decision to ban 'Doctor Strange 2' for an alleged 10-second episode in which Chavez mentions her "two moms".

'Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness' will hit American theatres on May 6, 2022.

Internet Crush of the Day
Henry Cavill From: post-DCU

Whatever happens next, we love Henry anyway.

Hot (63%) Not (37%)