Here's How to Watch Harry Potter Movies in Chronological Order

Here's How to Watch Harry Potter Movies in Chronological Order
Image credit: Legion-Media

Please pay attention here you all wizards, witches, and warlocks.

There is nothing wrong with watching films from the Harry Potter series from the beginning. It does not matter whether you are a Ravenclaw or a Slytherin, we have the same opinion that wandering in the wizarding world is pure magic.

Thus, we find it somewhat genuinely magical about watching the films from the Harry Potter series in chronological order.

If you are wondering how to go about watching the Harry Potter movies in chronological order, we have got you covered. Head to Platform 9 ¾ with a magic wand in your hand and try to settle in because the streaming ride is about to start.

The journey started with the film Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (or as known to the UK audience, the Philosopher's Stone), this widely acclaimed movie series spans Harry's seven years of studies at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry where he and other fellow students get to learn the art of Witchcraft and Wizardry from the best of wizards like Professor Dumbledore.

We have seen a lot of people who still find the order of Harry Potter films just as complex as the movies from DC Comics which by the way is very difficult to wrap your head around because there are so many.

Here's How to Watch Harry Potter Movies in Chronological Order - image 1

However, you would think that when it comes to the Harry Potter series, it would be easier to wrap one's mind around because if there are 7 books by JK Rowling on which the movies are based, then wouldn't it make perfect sense that there must be 7 movies?

If you think that way, you are just as wrong my friend.

Because there are eight movies comprising the Harry Potter series (this is because the final book was released as two movies), plus the Fantastic Beasts movie series, which more or less acts as the Harry Potter series' prequel.

To this point, the Fantastic Beasts series has released three movies taking the total to 11 movies, and more movies from the Fantastic Beasts series to follow in coming years.

We hope you are still with us and not wondering in your own magical world because as you see, this is going to get more complicated in the years to come with the release of new Fantastic Beasts movies.

By landing on this page, you are in good hands because we are here to make it extremely easy for you to comprehend the Harry Potter movies in the chronological events, they were set in.

Ah! finally, your gushing ride is about to end because the list below talks about Harry Potter movies in order of chronological events.

Spoiler alert! We are about to disclose some plot-revealing information.

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – 1926

This is the first movie in chronological event-wise which was set in 1926. It takes us to a new magical wizardry world around 50 years before Harry Potter even existed.

The movie introduces us to Newt Scamander, a wizardry zoologist, who has a case loaded with fantastical beasts the wizarding world has ever seen.

The wizardry world is on the verge of getting exposed when Newt's magical beasts are unintentionally let loose in the world. So, the movie is all about whether Newt can recapture the loose beasts before they are exterminated for good by No-Majs.

  1. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – 1927

Albus Dumbledore, a Hogwarts professor, enlists Newt to face Grindelwald when the latter poses a threat to the wizarding world.

This movie was set in 1927 and is all about Newt's struggle to stop Grindelwald before an all-out war breaks out in the magical wizardry world.

  1. Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore – 1932

In the third movie from the Fantastic Beasts series, Professor Albus Dumbledore who is unable to stop Grindelwald alone, hands over the duty to Newt and his partners to battle Grindelwald's followers so that they could stop him from getting the wizarding world under his control.

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone – 1991-1992

Now, this is where everything started. It was set in 1991-1992 on the 11

He moved to the magical school of Hogwarts for the wizarding journey, where he finds the family, he was always looking for but never found.

  1. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – 1992-1993

This movie was set in Harry's second school year. Harry received a strange visit from an elf who warns him about upcoming happenings.

After that, strange things started to happen making this year more difficult for Harry than the previous one.

Here's How to Watch Harry Potter Movies in Chronological Order - image 2

  1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – 1992-1994

This was the third movie from the Harry Potter series which started with the gang getting back together for their third year at Hogwarts school.

This movie is more or less about Harry fighting off Sirius Black, an escaped prisoner from Azkaban prison, who is hell-bent on killing him. In doing so, Harry is helped by his new teacher named Remus Lupin.

  1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – 1994-1995

In the fourth school year which is shown in this Harry Potter's fourth movie, Harry has to compete against three other wizards who are each chosen from three different wizarding schools for a tournament.

Harry was made to compete in the tournament considering he was not even eligible to take part in it. However, once enlisted, he cannot back off now from one of the most dangerous tournaments.

  1. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – 1995 – 1996

In Harry's fifth year in school, the possibility of a war is looming in the wizarding world. On the other hand, Lord Voldemort is back, and people are not aware of it yet because the Magic Ministry is hiding the truth from everyone.

When the appointed defense (i.e., Dolores Umbridge) by Magic Ministry refuses to train for defense, Harry and co take it upon themselves to prepare for the defense by creating Dumbledore's army which includes fellow students.

  1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – 1996-1997

In this sixth year of school, Harry must battle Death Eaters, Voldemort's followers who are inflicting mayhem around the world. In the meanwhile, the power of Voldemort is increasing.

On the other hand, Professor Dumbledore is trying everything he can to prepare Harry for the final battle that is getting closer.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part I) – 1997-1998

This is the first installment of the movie finale where Harry and co are hunting for Horcruxes, Lord Voldemort's immortality source, in order to destroy it.

While doing so, the war has already begun and the Dark Lord with the help of Death Eaters has taken over the Ministry of Magic as well as the school to hunt for Hurry who is preparing for the final epic showdown.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part II) – 1997-1998

This is the last movie of the Harry Potter series and the story revolves around the epic showdown between the good and the evil for which everyone has been preparing.

Fate lies in the hands of Harry to save the world by defeating Lord Voldemort.